Sunday, January 17, 2010

Arncliffe, William Beehag, West Botany St (AKA Muddy Creek Road)

"Up until the mid 1850’s the nearest churches for settlers south of the Cook's River were the Anglican Church at St. Peter's and the Wesleyan Church at Newtown. But in 1855, James and William Beehag, two brothers from Essex in England, men with “true and deep religious experience” started a Sunday school on William's property in West Botany St., Arncliffe (In those days known as Muddy Creek Road)."

No comments: